Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

Skip Navigation Linksccog

Community College Oppurtunity Grant

The New Jersey College Promise Program is the State’s commitment to creating an affordable pathway to a college degree. It consists of two life-changing programs used in tandem: the Community College Opportunity Grant (CCOG) and the Garden State Guarantee (GSG) that promise transparent, predictable pricing for up to four years of college here in New Jersey. Based on your income, your degree may be tuition-free!

The Community College Opportunity Grant (CCOG) is the first part of the College Promise and represents New Jersey’s commitment to tuition-free community college. Based on income, eligible New Jersey students, including NJ Dreamers, can pursue their first associate’s degree tuition-free or for an affordable, reduced tuition rate at their local community college. Upon graduation, eligible students can transfer to a New Jersey public, four-year institution and receive an additional funding through the Garden State Guarantee.

To be eligible for the Community College Opportunity Grant, students must:

  • Be a New Jersey resident with an AGI between $0 - $100,000
  • Complete the FAFSA or NJ Alternative Financial Aid Application by applicable state deadlines
  • Enroll in at least six (6) credits per semester at one of New Jersey's community colleges
  • Have not yet earned a college degree
  • Make satisfactory academic progress

How to Apply

To be considered for all New Jersey financial aid, including need-based and merit-based grants and scholarships, complete the Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA). Students who qualify as NJ Dreamers must complete the NJ Alternative Financial Aid Application. Applications must be submitted by State deadlines: September 15 for new college students enrolling in the fall semester who did not receive State financial aid in the previous academic year, and April 15 for students intending to enroll again in the upcoming fall term after receiving State financial aid in the current academic year.

If you already completed the FAFSA® or the NJ Alternative Financial Aid Application for NJ Dreamers, you are automatically being considered for the Community College Opportunity Grant.

NJ Dreamers are eligible to apply for state-funded financial aid for postsecondary education, including the Community College Opportunity Grant. You may qualify as a NJ Dreamer if you do not have documented immigration status but meet the following criteria: you attended a New Jersey high school for at least three (3) years; you graduated from a New Jersey high school or received a high school equivalency diploma in New Jersey; and, you are able to file an affidavit stating that you have filed an application to legalize your immigration status or will file an application as soon as you are able to do so.

Be sure to log in and keep an eye on your NJFAMS To Do List.

The New Jersey Financial Aid Management System (NJFAMS) is the primary source for you to view your financial aid status. If any information or documentation is needed to complete your application, it will be listed in NJFAMS.